AAS Fall 2018 Election Results

The fall 2018 AAS elections have concluded, and we are pleased to provide the results in each category. Although the national mid-term elections no doubt occupied most members’ attentions, the fall AAS election also has concluded, and we are happy to provide the results in each category. A total of 1,959 votes were cast representing about 29% of the membership, slightly down from last year’s record 32% participation.  Newly-elected representatives will take office immediately after the upcoming annual conference in Denver next March.  We congratulate the winners and thank all candidates for their willingness to serve the association.  We also thank all members who participated in the electoral process, both national and organizational, especially in a political climate that is so polarized and dysfunctional.

Current Vice-President Prasenjit Duara (Duke U.) will move into the presidency

Christine Yano (U. of Hawaii)

AAS China and Inner Asia Council (CIAC)
Joanne Smith Finley (Newcastle U., UK)
Janet Gyatso (Harvard U.)
Patricia Thornton (Oxford U., UK)

AAS Northeast Asia Council (NEAC)
Joan Ericson (Colorado Col.)
Charles Kim (U. of Wisconsin)
Marcia Yonemoto (U. of Colorado)

AAS South Asia Council (SAC)
Mona Bhan (DePauw U.)
Elora Shehabuddin (Rice U.)
Megan Adamson Sijapati (Gettysburg Col.)

AAS Southeast Asia Council (SEAC)
Chiara Formichi (Cornell U.)
Richard Fox (U. of Victoria)
Eric Thompson (NUS)

AAS Council of Conferences (COC)

Keiko Hirata (CSU-Northridge)

New England Conference
Matthew Fraleigh (New England, Brandeis U.)

Note: only two regionals were electing this year due to previous tie-vote.