AAS SEAC: Benda Book Prize Competition

The Harry J. Benda Prize of the AAS is given annually to an outstanding newer scholar from any discipline or country specialization of Southeast Asian studies for a first book in the field.

There are no citizenship or residence requirements for nominees. The award, which honors one of the pioneers in the field of Southeast Asian studies, has been presented since 1977. The Benda Prize Committee, appointed by the Southeast Asia Council of the AAS, seeks and receives nominations from which to select the yearly recipient. Nominations for the prize may be made by trade book publishers, university presses, or any interested AAS member. Self-nomination is discouraged. Authors need not be AAS members. Original, scholarly, nonfiction works in English with a copyright date of 2017 or 2018 are eligible, but reference works, exhibition catalogs, translations, textbooks, essay collections, poetry, fiction, travel books, memoirs, or autobiographies are not eligible.

Nominators must send one copy of each nominated work to each of the committee members listed below, to be received by them no later than AUGUST 1, 2019. Each entry must be clearly labeled “Benda Prize.” The prize will be presented at the AAS annual conference next spring.

Benda Selection Committee:

  • Erik Harms, Department of Anthropology, Yale University, 10 Sachem Street, New Haven, CT 06510
  • Celia Lowe (Chair), Department of Anthropology, Box 353100, University of Washington, Seattle, WA 98195
  • Tamara Loos, Department of History, 450 McGraw Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853
  • Geoff Robinson, Department of History, UCLA, 6265 Bunche Hall, Los Angeles, CA 90019

For optimal performance, it is recommended that you use either Chrome or Firefox for any transactions, including the membership renewal page. If you are experiencing problems loading the page, please change your browser. Internet Explorer is not compatible with our database.