AAS SAC Cohn Book Prize Competition

The Bernard S. Cohn Book Prize honors outstanding and innovative scholarship across discipline and country of specialization for a first single-authored monograph on South Asia, published during the preceding year.

The Prize, named to honor the distinguished scholar, Bernard S. Cohn, carries with it a $1,000 award for the author.  Books nominated may address either contemporary or historical topics in any field of the humanities or the social sciences related to any of the countries of South Asia: India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, and Nepal in the spirit of Barney Cohn’s broad and critical scholarship on culture and history in South Asia. Nominations for the Prize may be made by authors, publishers, or other interested members in the field. To be eligible, books must have a 2017 copyright date. Prior publication of an edited volume, exhibition catalog, or translations without critical apparatus does not necessarily disqualify authors; a list of such publications, if any, must accompany the submission. A copy of nominated books must be sent to each member of the selection committee listed below by the August 1, 2018 deadline. The prize will be presented at the AAS annual conference next spring.

Cohn Selection Committee:
  • Christian Novetzke (Chair), 2575 NE 85th Street, Seattle, WA 98115
  • Azfar Moin, Religious Studies, University of Texas, 2505 University Ave., Stop A3700, Religious Studies – BUR 533, Austin, TX 78712-1090
  • Nathaniel Roberts, Humboldtallee 16A, 37073 Göttingen, Germany