AAS NEAC Palais Book Prize Competition

The James B. Palais Prize of the Association for Asian Studies is given annually to an outstanding scholar of Korean studies from any discipline or country specialization to recognize distinguished scholarly work on Korea.

There are no citizenship or residence requirements for nominees. The award was initiated by the Palais Prize committee headed by AAS President Robert Buswell, 2008-09, and includes a cash award of $1,000.

The Palais Prize Committee, appointed by the Northeast Asia Council of the Association, seeks and receives nominations from which to select the annual recipient. Nominations for the prize may be made by trade book publishers, university presses, or any member of the Association for Asian Studies. Self-nomination is not allowed. Authors need not be AAS members. Any original, scholarly, nonfiction works with a copyright date of 2015 or 2016 are eligible, but reference works, exhibition catalogs, translations, textbooks, collections of previously published essays, poetry, fiction, travel books, memoirs or autobiographies are not eligible.

Nominators must send one copy of a nominated work to each member of the review committee listed below. Copies must be received by the committee members no later than August 1, 2017. Each entry should be submitted in an envelope clearly labeled “Palais Prize” or have a letter of nomination enclosed.

Palais Prize Committee: 

  • Jennifer Chun (Chair), Centre for the Study of Korea, Munk School of Global Affairs, 1 Devonshire Place, Toronto, ON Canada M5S 3K7
  • Steven Chung, 211 Jones Hall, East Asian Studies, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08540
  • Jisoo M. Kim, George Washington University, Elliot School of International Affairs, 1957 E Street NW, Suite 503L, Washington, DC

The Palais Prize will be presented at the annual AAS conference next spring.