AAS SAC Ramanujan Book Prize Competition

A.K. Ramanujan (1929–1993) was born and educated in Mysore, India. He taught at the University of Chicago for more than three decades, where he served as the chairman of the Department of South Asian Languages and Civilizations. He earned the Padma Shri in 1976 and a MacArthur Fellowship in 1983. In recognition of the excellence of his translations, the South Asia Council of the Association for Asian Studies has established the A.K. Ramanujan Book Prize for Translation.

The award of $1,000 is given every other year, and is intended to recognize and encourage translations from South Asian languages into English. Translations will be judged by their aesthetic quality and contributions to the field of South Asian studies. Special consideration will be given to innovative work that reaches a wide audience. Books published in 2015 or 2016 are eligible for the prize which will be announced at the AAS annual conference next spring.

The deadline for submissions is October 1, 2017. Copies should be sent to each member of the selection committee.

Ramanujan Prize Committee:

  • Frances Pritchett (Chair), 401 Knox Hall, Columbia University, 606 W. 122nd St., New York, NY 10027
  • Laura Brueck, Department of Asian Languages and Cultures, Northwestern University, Kresge Hall Suite 4-512, 1880 Campus Drive, Evanston, IL  60208
  • Martha Ann Selby, Department of Asian Studies, The University of Texas at Austin, 120 Inner Campus Drive G9300, Austin, TX.  78712