AAS 2016 Book Prizes

We are happy to announce the winners of this year’s AAS book prizes that will be awarded at the upcoming annual conference in Seattle.

Joseph Levenson Pre-1900 Book Prize (China)

Wai-yee Li, Women and National Trauma in Late Imperial Chinese Literature, Harvard University Asia Center

Honorable Mention: Tamara Chin, Savage Exchange: Han Imperialism, Chinese Literary Style, and the Economic Imagination, Harvard University Asia Center

Joseph Levenson Post-1900 Book Prize (China)

Luigi Tomba, The Government Next Door: Neighborhood Politics in Urban China, Cornell University Press

E. Gene Smith Book prize (Inner Asia)

Sarah Jacoby, Love and Liberation: The Autobiographical Writings of the Tibetan Buddhist Visionary Sera Kandro, Columbia University Press

Honorable Mention: Andrew Quintman, The Yogin and the Madman: Reading the Biographical Corpus of Tibet’s Great Saint Milarepa, Columbia University Press

Patrick D. Hanan Prize for Translation (China)

Xiaofei Tian, The World of a Tiny Insect: A Memoir of the Taiping Rebellion and Its Aftermath by Zhang Daye, University of Washington Press

Honorable Mention: Anne Behnke Kinney, Exemplary Women of Early China: The Lienü zhuan of Liu Xiang, Columbia University Press

John Whitney Hall Book Prize (Japan)

Ran Zwigenberg, Hiroshima: The Origins of Global Memory Culture, Cambridge University Press

James D. Palais Book Prize (Korea)

Steven Chung, Split Screen Korea: Shin Sang-ok and Postwar Cinema, University of Minnesota Press

Honorable Mention: Janet Poole, When the Future Disappears: The Modernist Imagination in Late Colonial Korea, Columbia University Press

Bernard S. Cohn Book Prize (S. Asia)

Lotte Hoek, Cut-Pieces: Celluloid Obscenity & Popular Cinema in Bangladesh, Columbia University Press

Honorable Mention: Lucinda Ramberg, Given to the Goddess: South Indian Devadasis and the Sexuality of Religion, Duke University Press

Ananda Kentish Coomaraswamy Book Prize (S. Asia)

Richard Eaton and Phillip Wagoner, Power, Memory, Architecture: Contested Sites on India’s Deccan Plateau, 1300-1600, Oxford University Press

Honorable Mention: Chitralekha Zutshi, Kashmir’s Contested Pasts: Narratives, Sacred Geographies and the Historical Imagination, Oxford University Press

A.K. Ramanujan Prize for Translation (S. Asia)

Lakshmi Holmstrom, Children, Women and Men, originally published as Kuzhandaigal, Pengal, Aangal by Sundara Ramaswamy, Penguin Books India

Honorable Mention: Rosinka Chaudhuri, Letters from a Young Poet, 1887-1895, originally published as Chinnapatrabali by Rabindranath Tagore, Penguin Books India

Harry J. Benda Book Prize (SE Asia)

Ann Marie Leshkowich, Essential Trade: Vietnamese Women in a Changing Marketplace, University of Hawai’i Press

A.L. Becker SE Asian Literature in Translation Prize

Soledad Reyes, What Now, Ricky?, originally published by Rosario de Guzman Lingat, Anvil Publishing

Franklin R. Buchanan Prize for Curricular Materials

Dorinda Neave, Lara Blanchard and Marika Sardar, Asian Art, Pearson Higher Education