HOME

AAS Board of Directors and Officers

President
MRINALINI SINHA, University of Michigan, sinha@umich.edu

Vice President
TIMOTHY BROOK, University of British Columbia, tim.brook@ubc.ca

Past President
THONGCHAI WINICHAKUL, University of Wisconsin, twinicha@wisc.edu

Past Past President
THEODORE C. BESTOR , Harvard University, ted_bestor@harvard.edu

China and Inner Asia Council (CIAC) Chair
EMMA JINHUA TENG, MIT, eteng@mit.edu

Northeast Asia Council (NEAC) Chair
JORDAN SAND, Georgetown University, sandj@georgetown.edu

South Asia Council (SAC) Chair
ANNE FELDHAUS, Arizona State University, anne.feldhaus@asu.edu

Southeast Asia Council (SEAC) Chair
MAITRII AUNG-THWIN, National University of Singapore, hismvat@nus.edu.sg

Council of Conferences (COC) Chair
A. MARIA TOYODA, Villanova University, amaria.toyoda@villanova.edu

Journal of Asian Studies Editor
JEFFREY N. WASSERSTROM, UC-Irvine, jwassers@uci.edu

2015 Annual Conference Program Chair
JULIANE SCHOBER, Arizona State University, j.schober@asu.edu


China and Inner Asia Council (CIAC)

Chair: Emma Jinhua Teng, MIT, eteng@mit.edu

Dorothy Solinger, UC-Irvine, dorjsoli@uci.edu

Haiyan Lee, Stanford University, haiyan@stanford.edu

Sara Friedman, Indiana University, slfriedm@indiana.edu

Bryna Goodman, U. of Oregon, bgoodman@uoregon.edu

Beata Grant, Washington U. of St. Louis, bgrant@artsci.wustl.edu

Lisa Rofel, University of California-Santa Cruz, lrofel@ucsc.edu

Emily T. Yeh, University of Colorado, emily.yeh@colorado.edu

Madeline Zelin, Columbia University, mhz1@columbia.edu



Northeast Asia Council (NEAC)

Chair: Jordan Sand, Georgetown University, sandj@georgetown.edu

Sabine Fruhstuck, UC-Santa Barbara, fruhstuck@eastasian.ucsb.edu

Laurel Rasplica Rodd, University of Colorado, laurel.rodd@colorado.edu

Karen Nakamura, Yale University, karen.nakamura@yale.edu

Abe Mark Nornes, University of Michigan, amnornes@umich.edu

Julia Adeney Thomas, University of Notre Dame, thomasjna@aol.com

Helen Hardacre, Harvard University, hardacre@fas.harvard.edu

Laura Hein, Northwestern University, l-hein@northwestern.edu

Theodore Hughes, Columbia University, th2150@columbia.edu

George Kallander, Syracuse University, glkallan@maxwell.syr.edu (ex-officio)


South Asia Council (SAC)

Chair: Anne Feldhaus, Arizona State University, anne.feldhaus@asu.edu

Thomas Barfield, Boston University, barfield@bu.edu

Shelley Feldman, Cornell University, rf12@cornell.edu

Kathleen Erndl, Florida State University, kerndl@fsu.edu

Saadia Toor, CUNY Staten Island, saadia.toor@csi.cuny.edu

Karin Zitzewitz, Michigan State University, zitzewit@msu.edu

Allison Busch, Columbia University, ab2544@columbia.edu

Richard Eaton, Arizona State University, reaton@email.arizona.edu

Kathryn Hansen, University of Texas, kgh@austin.utexas.edu


Southeast Asia Council (SEAC)

Chair: Maitrii Aung-Thwin, National University of Singapore, hismvat@nus.edu.sg

Nhung Tuyet Tran, University of Toronto, nhungtuyet.tran@utoronto.ca

Yoko Hayami, Kyoto University, yhayami@cseas.kyoto-u.ac.jp

Ardeth Maung Thawnghmung, U. of Massachusetts, Lowell, ardeth_thawnghmung@uml.edu

David Biggs, UC-Riverside, biggsbiggs@gmail.com

Ronit Ricci, Australian National University, ronit.ricci@anu.edu.au

Wen-Chin Chang, Academia Sinica, wencc@gate.sinica.edu.tw

Pattaratorn Chirapravati, CSU-Sacramento, pchirapravati@csus.edu

Erik Harms, Yale University, erik.harms@yale.edu


Council of Conferences (COC)

COC CHAIR:
A. Maria Toyoda, Villanova University, amaria.toyoda@villanova.edu

ASIAN STUDIES ON THE PACIFIC COAST (ASPAC)
David Pietz, Washington State University, pietz@wsu.edu

ASIAN STUDIES CONFERENCE JAPAN (ASCJ)
Mark Caprio, Rikkyo University, caprio@rikkyo.ac.jp

MID-ATLANTIC REGION—ASSOCIATION FOR ASIAN STUDIES (MAR/AAS)
A. Maria Toyoda, Villanova University, amaria.toyoda@villanova.edu

MIDWEST CONFERENCE ON ASIAN AFFAIRS (MCAA)
Katherine Bowie, University of Wisconsin, kabowie@wisc.edu

NEW ENGLAND CONFERENCE (NEC/AAS)
Amanda Seaman, U. of Massachusetts-Amherst, acseaman@asianlan.umass.edu

NEW YORK CONFERENCE ON ASIAN STUDIES (NYCAS)
Kristin Stapleton, University of Buffalo, kstaple@buffalo.edu

SOUTHEAST CONFERENCE (SEC/AAS)
Shiping Hua, University of Louisville, shiping.hua@louisville.edu

SOUTHWEST CONFERENCE ON ASIAN STUDIES (SWCAS)
Adam Frank, University of Central Arkansas, afrank@uca.edu

WESTERN CONFERENCE (WCAAS)
Steven Riep, Brigham Young University, steven_riep@byu.edu

For a listing of AAS Regional Conferences, please visit the AAS Regional Conferences pages.


AAS PAST PRESIDENTS

Thongchai Winichakul, 2013
Ted Bestor, 2012
Gail Hershatter, 2011
K. Sivaramakrishnan, 2010
Robert Hefner, 2009
Robert Buswell, 2008
Elizabeth J. Perry, 2007
Anand Yang, 2006
Barbara Watson Andaya, 2005
Mary Elizabeth Berry, 2004
James Watson, 2003
David Ludden, 2002
Charles Keyes, 2001
Peter Duus, 2000
Susan L. Mann, 1999
Wendy Doniger, 1998
James Scott, 1997
Carol Gluck, 1996
Evelyn Sakakida Rawski, 1995
Barbara Daly Metcalf, 1994
David K. Wyatt, 1993
Tetsuo Najita, 1992
Albert Feuerwerker, 1991
Barbara Stoler Miller, 1990
Stanley J. Tambiah, 1989
Robert J. Smith, 1988
Rhoads Murphey, 1987
Susanne Hoeber Rudolph, 1986
Frank H. Golay, 1985
James William Morley, 1984
G. William Skinner, 1983
Ainslee T. Embree, 1982
Paul Wheatley, 1981
Eleanor Jorden, 1980
Benjamin I. Schwartz, 1979
Richard L. Park, 1978
John M. Echols, 1977
Marius B. Jansen, 1976
Ping-ti Ho, 1975
Richard D. Lambert, 1974
George T. Kahin, 1973
Robert E. Ward, 1972
C. Martin Wilbur, 1971
Cora DuBois, 1970
W. Theodore deBary, 1969
Holden Furber, 1968
John W. Hall, 1967
Karl J. Pelzer, 1966
Knight Biggerstaff, 1965
Arthur F. Wright, 1964
William W. Lockwood, 1963
Earl H. Pritchard, 1962
Lauriston Sharp, 1961
W. Norman Brown, 1960
George B. Cressey, 1959
John K. Fairbank, 1958
Hugh Borton, 1957
L. Carrington Goodrich, 1956
Edwin O. Reischauer, 1955
Kenneth S. Latourette, 1954
Felix M. Keesing, 1953
Rupert Emerson, 1952
Robert B. Hall, 1951
Harold S. Quigley, 1950
Charles S. Gardner, 1949
Arthur W. Hummel, 1948