The Northeast Asia Council (NEAC)

The Northeast Asia Council (NEAC) is one of four regional councils operating within the Association for Asian Studies (AAS). Created in 1970, these councils represent the interests of scholars working in their respective geographical areas.

Collectively, the four area councils and the Council of Conferences serve as the major policy body for the Association of Asian Studies, providing liaison between the Board of Directors and the members at large.

NEAC administers two grant programs: the Japan Studies Grants and Korean Studies Grants, and a Distinguished Speakers Bureau of Japan and Korea senior scholars able to give presentations at American colleges and universities.

NEAC administers the John Whitney Hall Book Prize, given annually to the author of an outstanding English-language book on Japan and the James B. Palais Prize, given annually to an outstanding scholar of Korean studies from any discipline or country specialization.

ATTN STUDENTS: NEAC administers a prize for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the AAS Annual Conference.

NEAC Council Members

Chair: Jordan Sand, Georgetown University, sandj@georgetown.edu

Sabine Fruhstuck, UC-Santa Barbara, fruhstuck@eastasian.ucsb.edu

Laurel Rasplica Rodd, University of Colorado, laurel.rodd@colorado.edu

Karen Nakamura, Yale University, karen.nakamura@yale.edu

Abe Mark Nornes, University of Michigan, amnornes@umich.edu

Julia Adeney Thomas, University of Notre Dame, thomasjna@aol.com

Helen Hardacre, Harvard University, hardacre@fas.harvard.edu

Laura Hein, Northwestern University, l-hein@northwestern.edu

Theodore Hughes, Columbia University, th2150@columbia.edu

George Kallander, Syracuse University, glkallan@maxwell.syr.edu (ex-officio)

NEAC Committees

Committee on Korean Studies
Chair: George Kallander, Syracuse University, glkallan@maxwell.syr.edu

Council on East Asian Libraries (CEAL)
Publisher of JEAL, the Journal of East Asian Libraries

Early Modern Japan Network (Publisher of Early Modern Japan: An Interdisciplinary Journal)
Philip C. Brown, Department of History, Ohio State University, brown.113@osu.edu

AAS Affiliated Groups Related to NEAC


The Northeast Asia Council (NEAC) of the Association for Asian Studies announces the 2015 competition for the best paper on a Korea or Japan topic presented by a graduate student at the AAS Annual Conference in Chicago.

The prize will recognize emerging scholarship in the field and foster intellectual exchange among junior and senior scholars. Consideration will be given to papers that have clear potential to be developed into publishable journal articles. An award of $400 and a certificate will be presented at the 2016 AAS Conference in Seattle. The Northeast Asia Council of the AAS will also provide a sum of up to $600 to the winner of the prize to partially cover the cost of his or her travel to the 2016 AAS Seattle Conference, where the winner will be recognized at the AAS Presidential Address/Awards Ceremony.

The Council encourages graduate students who present papers at the March 2015 AAS Annual Conference in Chicago to submit their papers for consideration. Papers on any aspect and region of Japan or Korea will be considered. Students must be currently registered in a doctoral program in order to be considered for the prize.

Please submit your 2015 conference paper, proof of current doctoral program registration, and panel abstract in PDF format up until March 29, 2015 to: Prof. George Kallander, glkallan@maxwell.syr.edu.

Papers received after March 29, 2015 will not be considered.

The winner of the 2014 AAS Philadelphia NEAC Graduate Student Paper Prize will be announced at the 2015 Chicago Annual Conference Presidential Address/Awards Ceremony.