The Southeast Asia Council (SEAC)

The Southeast Asia Council (SEAC) is one of four regional councils operating within the Association for Asian Studies (AAS). Created in 1970, these councils represent the interests of scholars working in their respective geographical areas.

Collectively, the four area councils and the Council of Conferences serve as the major policy body for the Association of Asian Studies, providing liaison between the Board of Directors and the members at large.

CALL FOR PAPERS: Call for Papers: Urban Exclusion in Southeast Asia
Rising Voices in Southeast Asian Studies – A SEAC/AAS Initiative

Submission Deadline: June 15, 2015

The Southeast Asia Council (SEAC) of the Association for Asian Studies (AAS) is seeking paper proposals from up-and-coming scholars to join a "Rising Voices" panel on the broad topic of "Urban Exclusion in Southeast Asia." We seek to recruit three early career scholars from Southeast Asian countries in order to form a panel for eventual inclusion in the 2016 Annual Conference of the Association for Asian Studies, to be held in Seattle, Washington from March 31–April 3, 2016. VIEW THE FULL CALL FOR PAPERS.

The Southeast Asia Council administers three book prizes for Southeast Asia scholars—the Harry J. Benda Prize, the George McT. Kahin Prize, and the A.L. Becker Southeast Asian Literature in Translation Prize.

TRANSLATION SUBVENTIONS: The Translation Project Group of the Southeast Asia Council is providing subventions to support the translation of key texts not yet published in the social sciences and humanities from a Southeast Asian language into English.

ATTN STUDENTS: The Southeast Asia Council administers a prize for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the AAS Annual Conference.

SEAC Council Members

Chair: Ronit Ricci, Australian National University, ronit.ricci@anu.edu.au

Maitrii Aung-Thwin, National University of Singapore, hismvat@nus.edu.sg

David Biggs, UC-Riverside, biggsbiggs@gmail.com

Ronit Ricci, Australian National University, ronit.ricci@anu.edu.au

Wen-Chin Chang, Academia Sinica, wencc@gate.sinica.edu.tw

Pattaratorn Chirapravati, CSU-Sacramento, pchirapravati@csus.edu

Erik Harms, Yale University, erik.harms@yale.edu

Ian Baird, U. of Wisconsin, ibaird@wisc.edu

Tyrell Haberkorn, Australian National University, tyrellcaroline@gmail.com

Alicia Turner, York University, turnera@yorku.ca

SEAC Committees

Country Specific Groups

Related Committees


Call for Submissions

The AAS Southeast Asia Council's annual prize recognizes emerging schoalarship in the field of Southeast Asian studies, from any disciplinary perspective. Graduate students at any stage, enrolled at the time of submission, are eligible and welcome to apply. The committee invites papers that fit the definition of "conference papers," i.e. of a length and scope that can be presented on an AAS panel, and that make an intellectual and/or methodological contribution to the study of Southeast Asia.

The papers for the next competition must be submitted following the AAS conference in Seattle, by 3 p.m April 3, 2016. Please submit your paper and proof of student status to the committee Chair David Biggs at biggsbiggs@gmail.com. Any questions regarding the prize can be sent to the same email address. The award of $500 and a certificate will be presented at the 2017 AAS Annual Conference in Toronto.

*The prize honors the memory of Pattana Kitiarsa who was Associate Professor in the Department of Southeast Asian Studies, National University of Singapore. He was born in the northeastern Thai province of Nong Khai and maintained his roots in this Lao-speaking region. As a scholar, teacher, and friend he touched many people's lives. Sadly, Pattana passed away from cancer at the age of 46. With his passing the field lost one of its leading scholars of Southeast Asian labor, religion, class, and media.

The winner of the 2015 AAS SEAC Graduate Student Paper Prize will be announced at the 2016 AAS Annual Conference Presidential Address & Awards Ceremony in Seattle.

The winner of the 2014 AAS Philadelphia Conference SEAC Graduate Student Paper Prize was Lupt Utama (Victoria and Albert Museum/Royal College of Art) for "Modernising the Monarch: The Adoption and Adaptation of Victorian Fashion and Military Dress Uniforms in the Siamese Royal Court of King Chulalongkorn."

The winner of the 2013 AAS San Diego Conference SEAC Graduate Student Paper Prize was Dredge Byung'chu Kang (Emory U.) for "Eastward Orientations: Thai Middle Class Desire for White Asians."

The winner of the 2012 AAS Toronto Conference SEAC Graduate Student Paper Prize was Joseph Harris, then doctoral student at the University of Wisconsin, Madison (now at Boston University), who presented a paper entitled, "Who Governs? Autonomous Political Networks as a Challenge to Power in Thailand."

The winner of the 2011 AAS-ICAS Hawaii Joint Conference SEAC Graduate Student Paper Prize was Noer Fauzi Rachman, PhD Candidate in the Department of Environment, Science, Policy, and Management at the University of California at Berkeley (now at Bogor Agricultural University), who presented a paper entitled, "Struggle Over Land and Land Policy in Contemporary Indonesia."